Before you judge either her or me for posting this story, read on… Judging without reading will only reflect your own preconceptions…

Whitney Thore is a radio producer and a very successful blogger. Whitney started dancing when she was 4 and she was teaching others at 16… Unfortunately, she stopped dancing in college. She says she didn’t know why, but she started gaining weight, so much so that she started to hate seeing her reflection in the mirror. She put on 200 pounds before she learned that she had Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome…

The good news is she went back to dancing socially eventually. Then one day, one of the hosts of the radio show where she works suggested she should start a “fat girl dancing” video series. She did and she decided to reclaim and embrace the word “fat.”

And that’s not all; she also launched the “No Body Shame Campaign” to promote body acceptance.

In her website she writes: “I am learning to practice aggressive self-love. I have lived my life as a 130-pound woman and as a 350-pound woman in North America, in Europe, and in Asia. Cultural norms, societal pressures, and the whims of the fashion industry do not define my worth as woman or a human being. My intelligence, personality, talents, and contributions do not fluctuate with the numbers on a scale. I am unwaveringly me at any size and I’m learning constructive and pro-active ways to help shape my ideals and the ideals of the world I live in. Do it with me?”

Don’t you wish you could dance like her???

